A Quick Note on PCTR’s Skyline Ridge Trail Runs

I ran this race the day after perhaps the toughest outing I have ever had as a runner.  As I was going to bed on Saturday night, I told my wife that there was “no way” I was going to run the next day.  My body felt depleted unlike any time in my running history before that.  That sun had simply kicked my ass.

So, when I woke up on Sunday morning and felt like I could at least drive, I was encouraged.  Loaded up a water bottle with some nuun and off I went.  At the start, I downgraded to the 14k, which covers the most scenic part of the course.  Unfortunately, this race is going away, so there is not much use in me telling you about how it lays out.

It does start with a nice little climb and my legs felt OK at best.  I chose to focus on how beautiful a morning it was.  The fog was somewhere below us and we were running on what seemed like a big island in an ocean of clouds.  I tried to take it in as much as I could, because this park is hard to get to from the East Bay, so it’s unlikely that I’ll be running here any time soon.

In the end, I finished 10th, but for some reason I don’t show up in the results.  This first weekend of back-to-backs in my preparation for the North Face 50 miler was overall a bit disappointing and made me realize that while in good shape, I still had a LOT of work to do.  Little did I know that my next two races would be very special, but that’s for another blog post…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

