2010 By The Numbers

Admittedly, I’m a bit of a numbers nerd.  I believe that with the digitization of, well, nearly everything the ability to work with and understand data is the path to business success in the future. OK, back to running.

I kept a detailed spreadsheet of my running in 2010 and below is a sample of some of the statistics.  I could have gone a lot further with my analysis, but things are a bit too busy right now. Hope you enjoy it regardless.

By all accounts, 2010 was my best running year ever.  I ran more miles than ever (2,288), won my first race (and two more), and successfully moved up to the 50 mile distance.  These successes are due to two main reasons:

  1. I stayed healthy
  2. I worked my butt off

total miles by week (blue bars/left hand x-axis) and month (red squares/right hand x-axis)

 

Compared to years past, here is how my total mileage compares:

  • 2007: 1,412
  • 2008: 1,244
  • 2009: 1,883
  • 2010: 2,288

How far is 2,288 miles?  Far enough to get me from Berkeley to Louisville!

Needless to say, I’m very pleased with how my running went in 2010.  I really felt like I made a leap as a runner.  And thus, the bar has also been raised for 2011.  I’m excited!

Good luck to everyone this year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2010 By The Numbers

  1. Addy says:

    Wow…this is super impressive! Very cool🙂. I especially like the map.

    Looking forward to reading about some good runs in 2011

  2. That looks like the route I ran From Sacramento to St. Joseph Missouri this year! Nice work out there, it’s along ways

Leave a Reply

