The 2010 Skyline to the Sea 50k

You know in the grocery store they try to get you make an impulse buy at the check out line?  A candy, perhaps, or a gossip magazine (I can’t believe Heidi looks like *that* now).  Well, this is the end of spring season for me (check out line) and Skyline to the Sea was my impulse buy.

Despite the hard effort of the previous week, I wanted to get one more ultra in before it gets warm, and I’m refocusing my training for the summer/fall seasons.  Another reason for me to run was that I knew lots of people who were going to race this one, and it’s always fun catching up with the ultra community.

I jumped at the chance to catch a ride  to the start with fellow GUTS alumni Paula and Nick.  Nick had just finished his first 50 mile race the previous weekend at AR 50 and was going to crew.  Paula on the other hand was attempting her first official 50k.  She was more than ready with a win at Coastal Trail Runs’ Canyon Meadow (Redwood) Marathon and lots of training under her belt (she makes me feel a bit lazy, actually).

The early part of the race went by in a flash.  Other than a minor twist of my ankle, I rolled through Aid 1 (48 mins) and Aid 2 (1:35) before embarking on the most technical section of the course.  My 25k time was the exactly the same as the previous year (2:11), but my legs were starting to get tired.  I eased up on the dreaded Gazos loop, which took almost an hour (3:04).  It was the second straight week that Brian Wyatt expertly took care of me several times during a race.  I could get used that.  Will Gotthardt, who was also volunteering, fired me up with a high five, Nick took a picture and I was off again.

Rolling out of Gazos Aid Station

Admittedly, I was hurting.  The previous week’s effort was catching up with me, so I just focused on putting one foot in front of the other and enjoying the stunning scenery.  I held it together pretty well and despite a little extra credit at the end (about a mile detour/10 mins), I finished in a solid 4:52.

I really enjoyed catching up with Caitlin and Rick at the finish.  And Paula crushed her first fiddy in 5:25! A great day all around.  I can’t wait until next year!

My thanks to all the volunteers and Sarah for organizing yet another wonderful race!

P.s. Much delayed post…things have been uber-busy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 2010 Skyline to the Sea 50k

  1. Addy says:

    Great job! Even though you were hurting, it still sounds like it was a good race🙂. That’s a very solid time, especially with a detour!

  2. Pingback: Mixed Emotions at PCTR’s Sequoia Races | Golden Trails Blog

Leave a Reply

